Dolphins GM Needs to Resign

Posted: April 28, 2010 in NFL
Tags: , , ,

Miami Dolphins General Manager Jeff Ireland needs to resign or be fired. That’s it. He has disgraced himself and the Dolphin organization.

It has been reported by Yahoo! Sports that Ireland, during a pre-draft interview with Dallas Cowboys first round pick Dez Bryant, asked Bryant if his mother was a prostitute.

Bryant’s mom has served time for selling drugs. However, that does not open the door to ask if she is a prostitute. If Ireland had any concerns about Bryant’s character I’m sure he could have found out in other ways.

What does his mother’s past have to do with him being able to catch a football on Sunday? It seems to me that this was a cheap shot by Ireland. What possible significance could that question have?

Ireland tried to defend himself by releasing a statement where he said “My job is to find out as much information as possible about a player that I’m considering drafting. Sometimes that leads to asking in depth questions.”

I do not find that to be an in depth question as much as I find it to be an insulting one. Would he have asked a white player the same question?

For his part, Bryant is attempting to stay above the fray. “My mom is not a prostitute,” he told Yahoo! Sports. “I get a lot of questions like that: Does she still use drugs? I sat and answered all of them”

I think Mr. Ireland needs to start answering some questions. Starting with: “What the hell were you thinking?”

Leave a Reply

