Top 5 Baseball Movies of All-Time!!

Posted: October 2, 2010 in MLB
Tags: , , , , , ,

My nephew, Evan, is three years old and I fear that he will grow up never playing baseball. This is actually a fear that I have. I want him to have the same awesome childhood that I had and that means laying baseball.

Football, both Pro and college, dominates America now and will only grow stronger as he grows up. The NBA puts out a great product that is visually appealing and more and more kids are playing soccer every day.

I figured the only way I can get him interested in baseball is to show him some great baseball movies.

Since we are headed into the MLB postseason I thought it would be a good time to list my Top 5 Baseball Movies of All Time. That way, in case anything happens to me, there will be a document for him to follow and learn about the Great American Pastime. (Actually, I figured List Articles are pretty easy to put together and I feel lazy today. Plus, I’m pretty drunk.)

So, here we go.

5. The Sandlot. Kids playing the game for the fun of it. A new kid, Smalls, moves into the neighborhood and bond with the local kids through baseball. It’s a great story. Me and my boys still use the quote; “You’re killing me, Smalls,” to this day. This movie also gets on the list because Benny “The Jet” Rodriguez grows up to be a Dodger. Can there be a happier ending than that?

4. Major League.  The first love the city of Cleveland ever got on film as far as I know. It was made before the Indians made their run at the World Series, only to be denied. It was a foreshadowing of LeBron’s treason, if you ask me. Still, it is a great underdog story. They were a team of misfits put together to lose, but won just to spite their evil owner. And check out the cast; Wesley Snipes, Charlie Sheen, Rene Russo, Tom Berenger and Corbin Bernsen. How can you possibly go wrong with Snipes and Sheen?

3. Eight Men Out. This is a great telling of the 1919 Black Socks scandal. It’s hard to believe that a team that good would throw the World Series until you realize what a total douchebag Charlie Comiskey was. And now he has a stadium named after him. It kind of makes you wonder why you should be a good person. But throwing a game is possibly the worst thing you could ever do, in my opinion. The integrity of any game must be upheld. And it has a great cast; John Cusack, Charlie Sheen, Christopher Lloyd and D.B. Sweeney.

2. Bull Durham. This is possibly Kevin Costner’s finest role ever. He is a veteran minor-leaguer, Crash Davis, who is brought in to handle pitching phenom Tim Robbins, aka Nuke LaLoosh. Susan Sarandon sexes up the picture with a classic role as Annie Savoy. Even though it was about minor league baseball it is still a classic. As a bonus, Crash Davis and Nuke LaLoosh are the greatest names in cinematic history.

1. Field of Dreams. “If you build it, he will come.” That line will never, ever be forgotten. Kevin Costner does it again. Another great role for him. Not as good as Bull Durham, but a great performance. This dude builds a baseball diamond in his corn field and channels the ghosts of the 1919 Black Socks and his dad. It doesn’t get any better than that for a baseball fan. If you don’t cry at least once during this movie you are dead inside and I don’t want to know you.

So there you have it. That is my list. Some of you may disagree with it but you should be secure in the knowledge that you are wrong.

Leave a Reply

