Tiger Woods DROPPED From His Own Video Game!!

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Golf
Tags: , , ,

When I first heard the news that Tiger Woods was being dropped from the cover of his own video game I wasn’t sure what to think. It took a minute to sink in. The game is called “Tiger Woods PGA Tour.” How can you have a video game Called Tiger Woods PGA Tour without Tiger Woods on the cover?

It didn’t make sense. If I play Pac Man I know there is going to be a picture of Pac Man on the cover. That’s how I know what game I am playing. You’re not going to see an Italian flag on the cover of Super Mario Brothers, are you?

Instead, EA Sports is putting a picture of the Masters flag on the cover. That’s right; a picture of a yellow flag will be on the cover of Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12. Just to be clear, the game is NOT called The Masters Golf 12, it’s called Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12. I know playing the course at Augusta is a big deal because it’s so hard to get into (especially if you’re a woman). But it doesn’t warrant dropping the greatest golfer of this generation. But I think I know what’s going on here.

EA Sports says it has nothing to do with Tiger’s problems off the course and his dismal showing last season. Sure it doesn’t. The game has been going strong for over a decade and you just happen to drop the namesake the year after he tanks in on the Tour? Please.

No one is buying that.

And don’t get me wrong. I don’t condone what Tiger did. I think cheating on your wife is wrong. But its none of my business. And if that’s the reason EA Sports dropped Tiger why didn’t they do it right after all this stuff came out Thanksgiving 2009? Why wait over a year to make this decision? Which makes me think that they could forgive him for cheating and becoming tabloid fodder, but they can’t forgive him for not winning on tour. And that makes them the biggest hypocrites, in my opinion.

I know EA Sports is running a business and has to think about their image and all that, but Tiger is still the biggest name in golf. He’s possibly the biggest name in all of sports ever since LeBron James committed partial suicide on national TV during “The Decision.” And if this is just a business decision I think it is a bad one.

My prediction is that Tiger will have a great 2011 season, win a couple of Majors and be back on the cover of Tiger Woods PGA Golf 13. After all it’s not personal, it’s only business.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by #sblog and others. #sblog said: @hoodmillionaire: New post: "Tiger Woods DROPPED From His Own Video Game!!" http://bit.ly/guxVOu #Tiger Woods http://twurl.nl/ez5iv6 […]

Leave a Reply

