Grizzlies Collapse In Game 1!

Posted: April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

The Memphis Grizzlies had last night’s game in the bag. They were up by as much as 27 points on the Los Angeles Clippers. It was a done deal. There was no way the Clips were coming back. No way. But they did and they beat the Grizz 99-98 to take a 1-0 series lead.

Like millions of other viewers, I changed the channel looking for something more interesting to watch. But every time I would return to the game the Grizzlies lead was getting smaller and smaller. But still, I had no doubt Memphis was going to win that game.

I had been taking some shots at the Clippers on Twitter most of the game. I was saying this was a hell of a time for the Clippers to remember that they were the Clippers and other witty things like that.

It took me a while to realize that the Grizz hadn’t made a basket for most of the fourth quarter but when I did, that’s when I thought they had a chance to lose that game. And we have to be honest here, Memphis lost that game, the Clippers didn’t win it. I give the Clips a lot of credit for not giving up but the Grizz handed them that game.

The Clippers played horrible for the first three quarters. They looked out of sync and overwhelmed. With the starters sitting on the bench, it was the second unit that closed the gap on Memphis. They are the ones who turned the game around. I think Memphis got over confident and lazy when the second unit came in. They let LA get close and then started to panic and the rest is history.

I still think Memphis is the better team and I picked them to win the series but it’s going to be interesting to see if they can come back from a collapse like this.

The Clippers will be a little over confident for game two but will Memphis be able to regain any confidence after a loss like that?

Leave a Reply

