Heat-Spurs On a Collision Course

Posted: May 29, 2012 in NBA
Tags: , , , , , ,

I know the NBA Conference Finals have barely started but I want to skip ahead and talk about the NBA Finals.

It seems pretty obvious to me that the Miami Heat and San Antonio Spurs are going to win their series. I don’t want to disparage the Boston Celtics or the Oklahoma City Thunder by already writing them off but I can’t see it turning out any other way. (Okay, maybe I wanted to disparage the Celtics a little bit.)

LeBron James and Dwyane Wade are playing at such a high level its almost scary. They aren’t getting too much out of the rest of the team but so far they haven’t needed it. They will need it when they meet up with the Spurs in the Finals, though.

And that’s where the problems will start. The Spurs are just too good and too deep to be beaten. The Heat will not be able to keep Tim Duncan out of the paint and no one has had an answer for Manu Ginobili. It also doesn’t hurt that they have one of the best point guards in the league with Tony Parker.

LeBron and DWade will have to score 80 combined points each game if the Heat are to have a chance to beat the Spurs. And I just don’t see that happening. That’s why I’m picking the Spurs to win in 6 games.

I know it seems odd that I’m willing to ignore the Conference Finals happening right now but the Heat and Spurs seem so far ahead of the competition they are bound to meet in the Finals. I hate to spoil the playoff for you but this is what’s going to happen.

Comments
  1. […] they haven’t needed it. They will need it when they meet up with the Spurs in the Finals, though. Read more here… /* /* Tags: 2012 NBA Finals, Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs […]

  2. Hey man,

    Just came across your blog and really enjoyed reading your NBA stuff. We currently have quite a few NBA writing openings on the FanSided network, and I think you’d be a great addition to our team. If you’d be interesting in contributing for one of our team sites or general NBA sites, let me know and we can discuss further details. If you are interested send me an email at akennedy@knights.ucf.edu.

    Thanks
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

